Municipal Elections

City Elections - Next Scheduled Election - Candidates - Election Details

City Elections

Those interested in serving in the legislative branch of the City's government can file for candidacy starting in the middle of December for the Municipal Elections that are held on the 1st Tuesday of April the following calendar year.



The Mayor's Office exercises general supervision of all officers and affairs of the City, though most day-to-day operations are relagated to the City Administrator who serves at the pleasure of the Mayor and City Council. 

The Mayor serves a four (4) year term.  Anyone interested in running for the Mayor's Office must be at least  25 years of age and have lived within the city limits of Waynesville for one (1) year prior to the election.



A Councilman's main objective is to work in tandum with his counterparts on the City Council in order to enact laws or "ordinances" pertaining to how the City operates.    

Each of the four (4) Wards of the City are represented by two (2) Councilman.  Each year, one seat from each Ward is up for election.  If a Councilman was appointed by the Mayor to fill a vacant seat on the Council, that seat will be included in the next following election.  The appointed member must either file for election and win the seat, or only serve the appointed one-year term.  

In order to run for election, candidates must be at least 18 years of age, have lived within the city limits of Waynesville for one (1) year prior to the election and be a member of the Ward in which he was elected.

Next Scheduled Election - April 6th, 2021



          NOTICE is hereby given that at the annual municipal election to be held in the City of Waynesville, Missouri on the 6th day of April, 2021, the following offices of the City will be filled: Councilman in Ward 1 (2 year term); Councilman in Ward 2 (2 year term), Councilman in Ward 3 (2 year term), and Councilman in Ward 4 (2 year term).

          NOTICE is also given that persons desiring to file as a candidate for any of the said offices must do so with the City Clerk at City Hall, 100 Tremont Center, Waynesville, Missouri, starting on the 15th day of December, 2020 at 8:00 A.M. and ending on the 19th day of January, 2021 at 5:00 P.M. Filing will be Monday through Friday with the exception of December 24th, 2020 and January 1st, 2021, when City Hall will be closed.


Michele Brown, City Clerk


Election Details


The annual election for the City of Wayensville, Missouri will be held on Tuesday, April 6th, 2021, in the City of Waynesville.  The election will be held between the hours of 6:00am and 7:00pm, on that date.


VOTING PLACE:       The Ark Community Center - 25625 Hwy 17, Waynesville, MO.  65583